Mission & Purpose


The ISD 88 Foundation was formed to enhance the quality of education in New Ulm Public Schools while creating partnerships between the school, community, and alumni.


The Foundation is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization that is governed by a volunteer Board of Directors. The goal of the ISD Foundation is to provide the school district with a perpetual source of funds for the purpose of enhancing student achievement and development. This will be accomplished by soliciting, managing, and distributing supplemental funds for educational programs and projects not within the budget capabilities of New Ulm School District 88.



In 2011, a group of concerned citizens met to discuss how they could support and enhance the educational opportunities available for District 88 students. They shared a common belief that relying on state funding and the infrequent passage of school operating referenda would not provide the financial resources necessary to continue District 88’s rich tradition of educational excellence. The foundation was formed to create an endowment that will fund creative and innovative educational opportunities now and into the future.

Board of Directors

2024 Board of Directors:

Abby Swenson – President
Mike Lieb – Vice President
Jake Holm – Treasurer
Lisa Besemer – Secretary
Mike Benz
Jill Curry
Shannon Frauenholtz
Sandra Juni
Tim Knaak
Kay Burnett Martin
Jim Pearson
John Rodenberg

Supt. Sean Koster – Ex-Officio
Amanda Groebner – Administrative Coordinator

Founding Board Members:

Carisa Buegler
Tamara Furth – Friends of ISD 88
Jayne Jensen – Friends of ISD 88
Pat Jirsa
Tim Knaak
Betsy Pieser
Jim Senske
Bill Steinke
Marka Stocker
Rachel Suess – Friends of ISD 88
Jim Thomas
Tracie Vranich
Marlys Zetah

For more information on joining our Board or becoming a member of a Committee, please contact us at info@isd88foundation.org or 507-233-8313.


Annual Reports